LU ROU FAN (TAIWANESE BRAISED PORK on RICE BOWL) in an INSTANT POT

I actually had to merge two recipes because I felt like just one of them was too bland but the other one had too many steps. As a mom, I needed something quick and easy. I had frozen pork belly and frozen pork and I didn’t have time to thaw, cut or prepare. I just tossed in garlic cloves, shitake mushrooms and all the frozen meat and ingredients. Although next time I think I’ll have to add more thick soy sauce and regular soy sauce and a small star of anise thank goodness I didn’t follow one of the recipes and added 3 of them. I like to cook with things that I have in the fridge already and sometimes I just don’t have everything all the time and with a crazy schedule you just don’t have time to always have everything.

1 strip of frozen pork belly (diced after is fine)
1 lb of frozen ground pork (break into pieces)
3-4 star of anise
1 cinnamon stick
1/4 cup of shaoxing wine
1/4 cup of thick soy sauce
1/4 cup of soy sauce
2 1/2 teaspoons sugar
1 onion (diced/minced)
4 garlic cloves
2 cups of water
8 shitake mushrooms (minced)
1 teaspoon five-spice powder
2 x pieces of dried clementine peels
6 pre-boiled eggs (i love lots of eggs in this recipe)

Throw everything into the instant pot except for the eggs and put it on manual for 30 minutes. Then fast release and then add eggs and mince everything while reducing sauce. Then pour over rice.

If you can wait and want it to taste better let it sit in the fridge and collect the fat at the top and then scrape it off.

 

