Oh where has my motivation gone? via @snarkfestblog #GuestPost

I am truly lucky to be a part of an amazing and wonderful group of women bloggers! I am so thankful for them and I wouldn’t be where I am today without them. Things they have done large and small. Things that they might not have even known that they’ve done…just by being there. What’s funny is that I sent out a request to them pleading them for a guest post because my blog has been very neglected since the beginning of the holidays. I didn’t think it would but alas I think all the merriment and eating has caused me to become brain dead. Teri responded immediately and asked what I would like the topic to be. I told Teri to write about whatever she wanted and when I received her post it was exactly what I was going through. I think it was meant to be! So here it goes! Please put your hands together and give her some love and make sure when you’re done reading her post and want to get to know her better visit her at SnarkFest Blog.

I’ve been extremely lazy as of late, and have really let my blog go. I made a very ridiculous Merry Christmas post which basically said ‘Merry Christmas’. It’s all I could come up with, so sue me. So when Courtney asked for a guest blog post, I decided that I need to jump back into the blogging arena and I took the bait. I posted a new blog on my Snarkfest page. Then I typed up a blog post for The Epistolarians. Now that my feet are duly wet, I’m jumping in full blast and top down to Chewylicious. Courtney’s been in a bit of a slump just like me, so she knows my pain. 
 
Why have I been so slow to blog? What’s caused my slump? In a word: Holiday. I’ve shopped, I’ve wrapped, I’ve decorated, I’ve cleaned, I’ve baked and for the love of God I’ve eaten. Then there’s the TV. I’ve seen more episodes of The Big Bang Theory, which I’m definitely loving, but I should be blogging. I should be sharing my snark with the world. The world waits on my every snarky word, doesn’t it? Okay probably not, but my mom, my best friend and everyone I’ve paid to follow my blog expects me to post something. Anything. Not just a Peanuts cartoon saying Merry Christmas. Being in a slump sucks. And it’s pretty hard to dig my way out of it. Like losing weight. It’s all about motivation. I need to be properly motivated to get off my ass and start back on the right track (alright, blogging actually requires me to sit ON my ass, but you know what I mean). 
 
Weight loss requires the same motivation. 2 years ago I lost over 60 lbs. I was motivated. I ran. I ran like the wind. I hated running, yet it was working for me so, like Forest Gump, if I was going anywhere, I was running! Between running and watching every calorie that went into my body, 60 lbs. left my body. It was wonderful. It was fantastic. I was in a size 8. And now? Not so much. This past year I didn’t run as often as I should have, I wasn’t careful with what went into my pie hole, and 40 lbs. came back. 
 
So here is my vow. I am getting back on track in the new year. I’m going back to blogging more regularly. I’m going back to MyFitnessPal.com to log and track my caloric intake andI’m running again. Running at least 5 days a week. And even if I don’t, I’m doing a guest blog post. No one here knows me. I can fall back to my old lazy habits and no one will know the difference. Unless you folks can try and keep me honest. Can I count on you??

To read more about Teri you can Visit her at SnarkFest Blog or Follow her on Twitter @SnarkfestBlog

Oh where has my motivation gone? via @snarkfestblog #GuestPost

10 thoughts on “Oh where has my motivation gone? via @snarkfestblog #GuestPost

  1. oh my! we sound like the same person. i also use The Big Bang to avoid blogging or studying, I also struggle with motiviation for weightloss and I also am in a slump with the blogging. I’ve even went as far as to sign up for a blog challenge where I have to blog everyday of january. If I’ve learned anything over the past few months, its that the more pressure I have the better I perform. Im so hoping it works!! Nice to know others feel the same. Hang in there. I still love the blog.

    Like

    1. I do the same thing…I join blogging challenges to keep me writing …or to get me motivated too! As for weight, I don’t want to even think about it >.<.

      I think after this guest posting stuff I'm finally getting my mojo back but we'll see how long it lasts! Welcome to my blog and thanks for dropping by!❤ I love Big Bang Theory too! =)

      Like

  2. I love the idea of declaring a goal someplace where people are less likely to throw it back in your face if you back out – awesome! I’m jumping on the bandwagon – I’m going to lose 15 pounds before BlogHer’13! Or else I won’t. Whatever.😉

    Like

    1. I’ll hold you accountable =ppp lol so should I say I join you too? Ack! I’m scared to commit! LOL hrm…. when is BlogHer? ….okay might as well….i guess we can encourage each other =)

      Like

  3. I heard that Robyn.🙂 And I definitely have one goal in mind and it’s not related to the scale, it’s related to my winter coat. I have two winter coats and neither will zipper up because the zipper starts at my hips. Big hips = no zips. So my first goal is to be WARM before the winter ends and be able to zip myself up.

    Like

    1. o m g i thought i was the only one that ever had that problem. i was so annoyed with that problem i had to buy things that didn’t go that far down….because i would always freeze cuz i couldn’t zip it up >.< i hate that….gl hun! xo

      Like

  4. I didn’t slack off on blogging TOO badly (although I’ll admit I did a little bit!). My goals for 2013 are weight-loss related as well, & also to finish wiring my novel. We’ll see how well I do… I’m tracking my progress on my bloggy-blog every Wednesday. Hopefully if I slack off, someone will be there to holler at me to get back on it!🙂

    Like

    1. Awww it’s good to take a blogging break especially because you work so hard! For us women I think we’ll always be going through the weight loss related goals every year! LOL I’ll check in on yah! I’m scared to commit but I do want to lose some weight too lol!

      Like

Comments are closed.